The Booker Prize and Best Sellers

In my second post, I stated that I was going to memorise all the Booker Prize winners as well as synopsises of all the winners’ titles. This is in preparation for my job, so that when someone says ‘Kiran Desai’s got another release that matches the tome of The Inheritance of Loss’, I don’t say something like ‘Yeah. I heard her new single on T4 last night.’

Also, I was going to list all the Booker Prize winners, with synopsises, on this blog, but I don’t need to as you can just go to The Booker Prize archive.

I have now read through and memorised all the titles, and I was quite surprised at how many names I recognised, and I was even more surprised as to how many I’ve actually read. (Who knew something as pretentious as a literary prize could actually recognize an interesting read?)

So, after reading all the synopsises (and even having read a few of the books), I’d like to recommend Ian McEwan’s Amsterdam.

Now, this is one of the books I haven’t read, but I do plan to read. It sounds just like an absolute laugh, kind of reminds me of ‘The Big Chill’, and now that I’m out of Uni, I so relate to that film. Plus, there was that weekend ‘the boy’ and I spent in Amsterdam, so I’m like really into anything with tulips right now.

I also said that I was going to compile a list of best selling novels, and make sure that I’ve read them all. God there’s Hardcover Fiction, Paperback Trade Fiction, Paperback Mass-Market Fiction, plus children and graphic novels and all the non-fiction. I have no idea where to start.

Do you know how hard it is to find out what the best selling fiction of the year has been? I can find it for last year, but fat lot of good that does me. And I can find it for this week, but that only really gives me one number-one book. Plus, each site I visit is different, so I really never know which one is the best seller. However, the only reason I want to read as many best sellers as I can is so that I’ll know the market for when I start my job. So, I guess as long as I’m reading a best seller, it doesn’t matter which one it is.

Now, the new plan is to read the best selling book of the week, each week.

Probably should start with this week’s best seller, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, but I’ve already read this. So, I’ll go with The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund. I’ll have a review up by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

