Romance a Tool of War

Goatee was supposed to take me out last night. Goatee was working in his office until nearly seven. When he was finally ready to go, he came around my desk and started kissing my neck. I thought he was just being a little sweet, so I asked, ‘What’s the plan for tonight?’

He didn’t say anything and got friskier. I knew where he was going with this, and eventually he said, ‘Have you ever wanted to…’

After the incident in Vienna after the Opera, I really didn’t want to argue. I went along with it. We had sex on my desk. I couldn’t enjoy it, I was so worried someone would see through the side window, or, even worst, someone would walk in. But I faked it.

I know that’s not cool, but all women have a bit of a fakey from time to time. I mean, I liked the sex. It was good, but I just can’t get into this whole exhibition thing.

Afterwards, he said he was a bit tired, and not really in the mood to go out. We went back to the house, and he whipped-up a quick stir-fry. After dinner, we watched a bit of telly, and I fell asleep on the sofa cuddled up next to him.

It’s a bit boring, but I know the champagne and caviar lifestyle he wooed me with wouldn’t last forever. And actually, I’m happy with a cuddle and a film at home. It’s not such a bad way to spend a Friday night.

Oh my god. I can’t believe I just said that. Am I getting old like him?

Goatee is out just now doing the big shop. He wanted me to come with him, but I hate, hate, hate shopping for food. There’s always people everywhere, and aisles are clogged, and too many choices. I just can’t deal with the stress.

Plus, he only shops at the new Waitrose, which I can’t afford. In fact, I’m not really sure how to deal with the whole splitting the food bill thing. We live together, so I should pitch-in, but I can’t afford to split the whole food bill. And if I went with him to do the big shop, I’d feel obliged to give him some money. And he probably wouldn’t accept the money, but it would be awkward. So, I’ve decided to not go shopping with him. I’ll just eat whatever he buys, or do my own shopping on my own time.

I’ve used the time he’s been out to give HarryPotter a ring. I wanted to ask him about Intern2, because I’m pretty sure Intern2 has been talking about me behind my back

I asked HarryPotter what he got up to last night, and he said he went to see a funk band — it was really good. I’m really happy Goatee and I have a comfortable enough relationship that we’re happy spending the night in, but I was also kind of jealous that I didn’t go out last night. I’ve got to find that magic balance between boyfriend and friends. It’s difficult.

I asked HarryPotter if Intern2 had been talking about me, and he said ‘Yes, but that’s been ages ago.’

I was so angry. How come HarryPotter’s known about this and never said anything? 

I asked, ‘What sort of things has he been saying?’, and HarryPotter said, ‘Oh you know. Just work stuff. That you weren’t qualified to do certain jobs.’

I lost my shit. How dare he say that about me? I know he was competing with me, but that’s just playing dirty. I’ve done an amazing job at MNM. What a cheeky fuck! No wonder I’ve gotten all the shit jobs.

I asked HarryPotter if Intern2 has said anything about me recently? Anything about me and Goatee? Or about trusting me?

HarryPotter went quiet for a bit, then said, ‘No. I don’t think so. No, he’s not said anything.’

But I could tell from HarryPotter’s voice that Intern2 has been saying stuff to Goatee about me behind my back. And, if Intern2 is going to smack talk about my work ethic, then what’s to stop him from smack talking about my personal life.

That’s it. It’s war!

2 responses to “Romance a Tool of War

  1. I’ve learned a lot since living in the east. I’ve learned to forgive and I think you shouldn’t resort to revenge against your coworker. It was Shantideva who said, “It is natural for the immature to harm others. Getting angry with them is like resenting a fire for burning.” It may feel good now to get revenge but you will only harm yourself in the end. You should remember the wise words of Buddha, “You will not be punished for your anger, you will be punished by your anger.” If you could see the sun rising over the land of the gods has I have you would understand.

    By the way, this is Sarah. The locals have given me a new name, and I have chosen to adopt it. Khlao means “Wisdom and light of the gods.”

  2. Why are you being such a tool? You would have been the first person to have helped me get this guy back, don’t try to pretend that you’re better than that. And your name is Sarah, a good old fashioned English name.

Leave a Reply

