Sticking around for a while

Big change of plans. First, I’ve met someone. I’ve been mucking about northern Australia with the most amazing, tan, sweet, funny, musical, smart, fit Canadian. He’s also doing the global gap year thing, but he’s going the opposite direction as me (after Australia he’s going to the far east). His Australia plans are to be here until September. I don’t know how long I’m allowed to stay in the country, but I’ve changed my flights and I’m going to hang about with him.

Now, you may be wondering about the job. Well, it’s all sorted. In fact, I got an email from them the other day, which at first made me all stressed, but when Pete suggested that I just stay in Australia for longer (and we’re taking a trip to New Zealand also) I realised that everything happens for a reason.

Anyway, the agency emailed to ask if I would mind starting my new job in January. So, don’t know if you remember, but the reason I got the job is because I’m supposed to be picking up the slack for an agent who’s moving to Paris. But she’s decided that with Edinburgh book fest in August, Frankfurt book fest in October and then the Christmas push, it doesn’t make sense to leave during the busiest time of the year. Plus they’re worried they won’t have time to properly train me with all that’s going on. So, they asked if I could possibly push my start date to January.

As I said, at first I was none too chuffed, because the thought of mucking about mum’s for an extra four months certainly didn’t appeal. But Pete just was all like, ‘That’s totally perfect. Just bum about with me longer.’ So, that’s what I’m doing.

D’s not too happy about this because we’re supposed to get a flat together, but she’ll just have to suck it up.

Oh, and this works out perfect with R. M’s long since left the US and is back in the UK. And R is building a bridge, or a dam or some civic thingy in Colorado for the summer. It’s part of his masters. So, he’s not even in New Orleans for the summer, but he said I could come out to Colorado and hang with him there, but it won’t be as much fun if he’s off hoisting concrete and steel all day. However, he’s back to New Orleans in August for school, so I’ll meet him then, and I’ll just putter around the US until October some time. Or maybe, if Pete’s back in Canada by then (I keep calling him Peter because he’s proud this maple-leaf flag sewed onto his rucksack, like some sort of Blue Peter badge), I can go see him in London. Yeah, he’s from London, Canada. See he and I are so kismet, we’re both from London– sort of. Anyway, I don’t know where I’ll go once in the US, I guess I’ll play it by ear.

And if I come home in October I can get a Christmas shop-job to tide me over until the agent job starts in the New Year. (Because, yeah, that worked so well for me last year.)

This is going to totally wipe out my savings (I was trying to keep some aside for when I come back), but I just don’t care. Gotta go. Pete and I are in Cairns and he’s going to teach me how to sail.

One response to “Sticking around for a while

  1. Well, of course, it would be a Canadian! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

