Another Day, Another Continent

Right. An update on the travelling intern.

It was about three days in before I found out about the English riots, and I went into a blind panic. I saw the updates on my friends’ Facebook pages, then went to check out the news. I tried calling home, but couldn’t get hold of anyone, and, as I searched the internet, I saw that riots in Kingston were mentioned here and there, but no specific information. I started to fret, then worry, then assume the worst. I looked into changing my Round the World ticket (again), so I could get home.. Luckily, before I did something rash, Pete got me to call home again. I finally got in touch with Mum, who assured me all was quiet on the home front, don’t worry, and continue on with my Gap Summer.

If I wasn’t going back to the UK, I had to make a decision. Try to stay in Australia or New Zealand, or continue on with the next planned portion of the trip – the USA. For various reasons, a young person’s work visa wasn’t going to happen for either Oz or NZ, so it looked like I was on my way to America.

However, there was one problem. My ticket to the US had been rebooked a few months back, and all I had to do was get on the flight. No more fees to pay (unlike if I’d decided to stay in Oz or go home), but my ticket was to Los Angeles. Here’s the problem,  my friend, Rich, is back in New Orleans for the second year of his Masters. (He had been in Colorado for the summer.) Originally, there was going to be a road trip involved, but I’m so skint (yes, stupid, I know), that I couldn’t afford to walk to Louisiana let alone embark on a road trip. Plus, as mentioned above, Rich is back to Uni and couldn’t really road trip it.

Solution to the problem? The best friend in the world.

Rich has loaned me a few hundred dollars to get a flight to from LA to NO. I have friends that are absolutely magic. So, here I am. On Rich’s sofa. With stupid crazy jet lag – awake at 4am and unable to keep my eyes open past 1pm. A mate of Rich has a brother who owns a bar, and he said I could have a job waiting tables for cash. Looks like I’ll be one of those illegal immigrants. Well, it’s just for pocket money. A shift or two a week, and it should be a laugh.

I’ll do my best to keep everyone posted.

–C

PS-Oh, and I forgot to mention, MY FUCKING GOD IT’S HOT HERE. What is wrong with this place?

6 responses to “Another Day, Another Continent

  1. Yeah. We’ve been having a bit of a heat wave in the southern US. Kind of miserable. Please don’t melt. We wouldn’t want that on our conscience! Awesome that your friend Rich was able to help out and get you to New Orleans, though!

    I’m glad to hear you got a hold of your mom and that things were good back home. It’s really hard getting bad news about something like that and not being able to call. =/

    • Wow. Are all my bloggy-followers from the South of the US? How weird. Glad to see you’re blogging again, and good luck with the job hunt. I’m positive the right position will come along, just hang in there.

  2. Oh my gosh! You’re in New Orleans! We’re totally getting drinks tomorrow night! Or tonight! Okay, so maybe you don’t want to meet a random American stranger…. wait, isn’t that what your travels are all about? 😉

    • Hey. Sorry I didn’t respond sooner. R’s internet went down for a bit. So, should I meet up with a random blogger? How do I know you’re really a cool and classy chick into literature, and not a crazy middle aged axe murder? Oh well, only one way to find out. Email me and we’ll set up at time and a place.

  3. Welcome to LA! It’s pretty much miserable here during the summer (in my opinion). New Orleans is a fun city though (I’ll be there saturday!). Hope you enjoy your time here! Glad everything is okay with your family and that you were able to make it to the States!

    • They keep talking about record heat waves and giant hurricannes, but everyone says it’s always like this. I think people are just trying to make me feel better. However, despite the hot. muggy, gross stickiness, and giant flying cock-roaches, New Orleans is a blast.

Leave a Reply

