Posh is trying to steal my boyfriend

Remember how I said I didn’t get jealous when Pete flirted with other women? I lied.

Maybe I wasn’t jealous. And I’m definitely not jealous when he chats up the blue-rinse brigade like he did at Conspiracy’s writing group. (In fact, it even helped us sell books.) But he and PoshPhD are just getting too chummy.

And, yes, PoshPhD did leave me behind last night. After waiting for ages, I went and knocked on her door and she was gone. I texted Pete to find out what was going on, and the response was ‘We’re all over here where are you?’

So I hauled myself all the over to CoolTrous (in fairness, he doesn’t live too far, but I was annoyed about being left behind), to find that they’d already eaten and left nothing for me. (Chinese take away, by the way.) I also arrived to find PoshPhD strewn across Pete, casual as you like. I went over, straight to him, gave him a big kiss and a ‘Hey honey’ and flopped myself down so that she’d have to move.

I asked him what he’d been up to during the day, and little Miss Braless-No-Trousers  PoshPhD butted in, ‘We went and walked doggies. It’s so suburban it’s hilarious.’

I don’t even know what that means.

You know how Pete has that dog walking/cleaning job? Well, PoshPhD, who has nothing to do all day but pontificate on art, has decided to join him, and there’s nothing I can do about it.

I spent the rest of the night partaking in too much PDA for my comfort, but it was a necessity. I had to mark my property, and I think it warned off PoshPhD for the time being. Argggh. Why couldn’t I live next door to a sweet little old lady or even a NED would be better.

5 responses to “Posh is trying to steal my boyfriend

  1. emofalltrades

    I hate to kick a girl while she’s down, but DUH! You need to straight-up tell Pete you’re not comfortable with how much time he spends with a girl who refuses to wear trousers and drapes herself all over him.

  2. Ugh. I feel your pain so hard. My ex fiance’s BFF was a girl and a total attention whore. Also part of why he is my ex. I agree with emofalltrades; there’s nothing wrong with having boundaries and being clear that her behavior makes you uncomfortable. He can’t control her, but he can control himself!

  3. I don’t think that’s a matter of jealousy, I think that’s a matter of establishing what it is to have an adult relationship. It’s one thing to be cool with him having women for friends and whatnot, something else entirely when he leaves you out in the cold hanging out with her. Working out exactly where y’all stand with one another sounds like it would be a good idea. I hope the conversation goes well.

  4. Judisunshine and SkyddsDrake, you two (and Em who knows me too well) are so right. Having a friend who is a woman is not an issue. It’s a woman who doesn’t know boundaries. And, Pete himself is not the best at recognising what is socially acceptable and what isn’t. And part of his charm I guess. All we need to do is have a chat, and I’m sure he’ll give Posh some space. But, thank heavens to Buddha, S has surprised me with her arrival. (See new post.) They lived together for a bit, and she’ll be a good Posh buffer. (Not that I won’t now have a boundaries chat, it’ll just be easier with her about.) I’ve already filled her in on Posh’s trouserless presence in the building, but as far as I know S is yet to meet her.

    You three, I appreciate the advice so much. Sometimes all I is to hear what I already know from others. All the best. Now, that’s me finally off to lunch so I can hang out with S.

Leave a Reply

