If it’s not okay it’s not the end

Loraine was not in a good mood today. She brought up the issue of disbanding the London office with the rest of the team. I think she was really cool about the whole thing; she asked for everyone’s opinion, and how they would suggest dealing with incoming posts, contact information and meeting with clients. For good reason, AdminAssist was none too pleased, but Loraine suggested that maybe she could work from one of the other London agent’s home office, just like I’m working at Loraine’s. This did not go down well. In fact, even Manchester was against it despite the fact that he’s not in London. The only person supporting Loraine was Paris, but even with Paris’ backing no one else even wanted to discuss it.

I think the problem was that Loraine sent it around in an email, and she should have waited until the next conference call. You know how emails are, the intended tone never comes across properly. But Loraine said the reason she sent it as an email was because she just wanted to see what their thoughts were, and she didn’t want it to come in as a mandate. Unfortunately, it had the opposite effect.

Loraine went outside for a break where LadyBohemia was painting the fluffy white parts of dandilions. The window to the conservatory was open, and I probably heard more than I should have. Loraine told her mum that she’s angry because she’s sunk a lot of money into this business. She feels like because she’s floated it financially, and because she founded it, it’s her Agency. But since they’ve changed things up, and everyone’s commission goes into one pot to then be divided, she’s lost that control.

LadyBohemia then said that it couldn’t be that bad. Then she said the best quotation I’ve ever heard, ‘I’ll be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, then it’s not the end.’ I love that!

Although, I don’t think this is what Loraine wanted to hear, because she said, ‘That’s what I’m afraid of. The end.’ And with that she came back inside, got onto the computer and was quiet for the rest of the morning.

The weather is amazing again, and while I love my little café, I just don’t want to be cooped up for lunch. I’m at the park under a tree just now (I tried sitting in the sun, but I can’t see the screen to the laptop), and I picked up a sandwich from the corner shop. Ah, sunshine, laptop with a dongle, and a coronation chicken sandwich. Nice.

Leave a Reply

