Birthday Celebrations

I didn’t not break up with Pete last night, because if I had it would make me the worlds worst person.

Finally S and Pete came home. I took a deep breath, and I was ready to do it. I said, ‘Pete there’s something I need to talk to you about,’ and I walked into the bedroom so that we could have some privacy.

But before Pete could join us, S interrupted by saying that she needed to talk to me first. She closed the door leaving Pete in the lounge.

‘Right. You know how Pete’s birthday is this weekend?’ she said.

Fuck! I completely forgot about that. Fuckity, fuck, fuck.

‘We’re throwing him a surprise party. [PoshPhD] and I have decided to have it at our flat. But it’s a surprise.’

Here’s what I was thinking:

‘OUR’ flats. This is MY flat.

I don’t want a load of people in MY flat.

How come he’s been in town for a shorter period of time than me, but knows enough people to have a mega birthday party, and I don’t know anyone.

S continued, ‘It’s all sorted. You don’t have to do a thing. Oh and were asking everyone to chip in for food and booze, so it won’t cost you anything either. Although we’re all pitching in some money to buy him a birthday present. We’re getting him a guitar case.’

Here’s what I was thinking:

Fuckity, fuck, fuck. I can’t break up with him now. Not only is it his birthday this weekend, but the party is all sorted, and I can’t very well dump him then have people around for cake.

This is sooooo shit.

I said this was all fine with me, and S said, ‘So if you wanted to ask him about his birthday, don’t mention this. In fact, if you could get him out of the house for the day while we decorate that would be good.’

Lovely.

I agreed, and after S left the bedroom Pete came in. I said I just wanted to ask him about his birthday. That perhaps he and I go do something that afternoon. He mumbled a bit that he thought we should spend the day with everyone, but I persisted, ‘No. Just for the afternoon. Just you and I. To make up for the fact that I’ve been gone a lot.’

Crap.

This morning I got a text from Fife. He wants to see me this week, so he’s asked if I’d like to come around to his house for dinner tonight. Perhaps stay over. As much as I’d loooove to stay over, I really shouldn’t. Even for practicality issues, because it’ll be a pain to get to work in the morning. So, I’ll be heading to Fife’s after work, I just won’t bring an overnight bag.

Oh, and he texted me again just before lunch to say that he had a chat with Conspiracy, and he just found out that Conspiracy and I are going to be at the same festival as him. The one weekend after next. He’s chairing a panel. That perhaps he and I should make a weekend of it. Sounds good to me.

Speaking of Conspiracy, I haven’t heard back fromManchesterabout Conspiracy’s blog/book. I don’t know what this means? He seemed so excited on the call. Maybe he just hasn’t had a chance to look over the proposal and sample chapters. But, I’m still quite new to all of this. Did I not do the proposal properly?

I asked Loraine if Manchester doesn’t represent the book, could I? She said she’s a bit nervous about me taking on full agent duties, that I should wait and see what Manchester says. I hope he gets back to me soon, as I’m a bit afraid that Conspiracy will change his mind.

Right, better run. I don’t want to take too long of a lunch today, because I want to leave work early so I can get the bus to Fife’s house.

Leave a Reply

