In Over My Head

Going back to work today was a bit awkward. First, I really didn’t want to be in the house. I felt like I was intruding on Loraine’s grief, and I simply didn’t want to be in the house. The last time I was there was the morning I found…

To be honest, I don’t even want to write about it. LadyBohemia’s funeral is on Thursday, and a few people from the Agency are coming up for it. As for being in the house, at least I was in the conservatory and I didn’t have to go into the main living area.

I could hear Loraine and Philip kicking around that morning, but she never came into the office. Then just before noon, Philip popped his head in to say that, despite Loraine’s strong protestations, he talked her into spending another week on leave, but there were a few things she insisted on getting done. Could I pick up the slack?

Well, I’m not going to say ‘no’, but the stuff she needs me to work on is way over my head. Loraine and Paris were in the middle of a foreign rights deal with an Italian publisher, and while Paris can handle most of it, I need to be there for support. The Agency also has a client’s book that’s run out of its five year contract with the publisher, and it was doing quite well, so Loraine is going to put the book back out on the market. I’m to try and maintain interest in the book until she’s back in the office. Hopefully, she’ll be back next week, so I won’t have to do much with this.

I’m really nervous about helping with this stuff, but I guess it’s the only way I’ll learn. And she needs the help.

Oh, and this is totally good news. You know how I met that journo at that festival, she’s done a review of Conspiracy’s first book, and it’s glowing. I did a bit of research on my own, but Loraine was also supposed to have given me some publishers to contact about Conspiracy’s book/blog and set up the meetings, but, of course, that’s not going to happen just now.

I wasn’t too worried, as Conspiracy had major rewriting to do to turn the blog into a book, and I thought this would take a while. Well, it didn’t. He sent over the first complete copy of the book/blog today. He’s changed the blog aspect of it quite a bit, but he kept the voice and the general ethos of the story. Plus, he’s done it quickly and to near perfection. I’ve only just browsed the manuscript, but it’s looking really good.

You know what Conspiracy proves? Writing, writing, writing makes you a good author. According to Saint, Conspiracy has stacks of manuscripts and short stories stuffed in drawers, trunks, under the bed. And, almost every second of his spare time is spent writing. I guess if you do something that much, you’ll be come an expert. So advice to new writers, don’t just write one or two books, write fifty. Then once you get the hang of it, write some more.

Oh, and I checked out his Twitter account, and Fife’s correct, it’s really witty. I’m going to ask Conspiracy to include some of his Tweets into the book/blog. I was thinking about making the Tweets some of the chapter headings. Oh, and even cooler, he’s got a few famous people following him, even reTweeting him.

So, I spent a good portion of the day researching publishers for Conspiracy, talking to Paris about foreign language rights, and getting a handle on the manuscript that is to be put back on the market.

I really think Loraine should take as much time as she needs. Bereavement is nothing to rush through, but I’m kind of freaking out about taking on such important duties – especially when the Agency isn’t doing so well financially. I feel like there’s no room for error. Oh, and still waiting to hear back from MNM about the Gordon Highlander book. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

