Friends who interrupt my day at work

I have got to start turning my phone off while I’m at work, because I’m just not getting any work done. And I should also stop dicking around on my blog while I’m at work. But that’s just so hard to do at the moment since there’s no one in the office. 

Today I’ve been switching back and forth between HP texts and D blog comments which turned into a phone call. D’s off work sick, and because she’s sitting around her house in an absolute moany mood, she has decided to take her misery out on me and my blog comment section. She tried to ring me after getting tired of the blog comments, but I was on the phone withParis, so she called back until I answered (stubborn cow).

I won’t replay the entire conversation, but essentially she thinks I should break up withFifebecause he’s got too much baggage. But I don’t want to break up with him. When the kids aren’t around things are great. We had such an amazing time last weekend on the beach. I just have to get this kid thing under control.

Oh, and HP has been texting me for most of the day. I won’t transcribe those boring text (especially as HarryPotter asked that I don’t blog about him, and I guess I shouldn’t even be blogging this, but a little won’t hurt), but essentially we spent the day just talking about ‘stuff’. It started off by him texting me about this thing called Pecha Kucha. It’s a lecture series where creative people are show twenty slides about their work, but they only have 20 seconds per-slide. It’s like speed-dating for networking in the creative industries. HarryPotter texted me about it because there was one on inDundeelast night, and he thought I might have gone. I did not. I didn’t even know about it. But it looks really cool, and I definitely want to go to the next one. So, this got HP and I talking.

Oh, and he told me that he went on that ‘date’ with the girl in the building, but ‘It’s not going to work out’. I texted back to ask why, but he changed the subject to the new Avengers movie. So, I don’t know what happened on the date, but it’s probably for the best. I didn’t have a good feeling about that girl anyway.

He also texted to see if I wanted to come over toGlasgowthis weekend. Yeah, I want to go, but I don’t know if I can.

My gawd, that makes it sound like I’m not allowed to do things. It’s just that the kids are supposed to be around through the weekend (joy of joys), and as much as I don’t want to spend time with them, I need to put in the effort.

Plus, here’s the complicated part, if I did go toGlasgow, do I tellFifethat I’m off to spend the weekend with another man. I know HP and I aren’t like that, and he’s just a mate, but willFifeunderstand that? He should do. And I’ve never really told Fife much about the HP history (although he knows about Goatee and I; then again everyone in publishing knows about the history Goatee and I have), so since Fife doesn’t know that HP and I had a (very brief) romantic thing, he shouldn’t have a problem with me staying at his for the weekend. But then again, there was so much drama around the Pete situation that I don’t know if I want to drag all that sort of thing up again. And to be honest, if I’m going to have a ‘talk’ withFife, it needs to be about his kids, and not about me going off for the weekend to see an ex-flame (although it’s not like that with HP and I any longer).

Oh I don’t know. See it’s all way too complicated. So I told HP that I’d have to give him a rain cheque and that I had something on withFifethis weekend (which isn’t untrue). But that maybe another weekend. I really wish I could go, but it just doesn’t seem like a good idea right now.

Leave a Reply

