The Aftermath

Fife came back well past midnight last night. Tail between his legs and his hand bandaged. He got in the car intending on driving to the cottage when he realised how much his hand hurt, he could barely grip the steering wheel, and was turning purple and swelling up. (His hand was turning purple and swelling up, not the steering wheel.) Fife made a pit stop at Ninewells, and after x-rays and waiting for hours to see a doctor, he discovered that when he punched the wall he broke two of his fingers. (Luckily he’s right handed but punches left. Stupid twit.)

I’d cooled down quite a bit by the time he returned, and I’ll admit that I was the first one to say ‘sorry’, and I truly was. He had big news, great news. He’s been wanting to change genres for ages, and when it finally happened I stomped all over it. He asked why I reacted the way I did, and I told him about the Agency closing. I’d taken my frustrations out on him.

He then apologised for over reacting and punching the wall, he then explained why he hasn’t signed he divorce papers. ‘[Helen] wants to buy me out of the house,’ he said.

To which I responded, ‘Good. Let her.’

Unfortunately it’s not that easy. Helen wants to buy him out for much less than half, because she’s argued that she’s put more money into the house than Fife has. But Fife’s argument is that his time has gone into the house, not to mention he can’t buy another place for the small amount of money she wants to give him. So, he’s suggesting that they sell it and divide the money in half, or she buy him out at half.

And, because she can’t remarry until he signs the divorce papers, he’s withholding divorce until she raises the amount she’ll pay for the house. He then added, ‘She’s lucky I don’t come after her for the London flat. But, since she’s not trying to get the cottage, I’ll let her have the flat in Knightsbridge.’

‘Fucking hell. She’s got a flat in Knightsbridge. My god, she must be loaded,’ I thought. No wonder Fife is holding out for more money.

Fife and I laid in bed last night hashing things out. I told him that part of the reason Loraine is closing the agency is because of all the extra work she’s required to do now – the stuff publishers used to do. The stuff that Fife is having his agent do. Fife said he never realised the liberties he was taking, and agreed that he’d make more of an effort to do his own rewrites.

I also told him that Loraine said I could have part of the commissions coming in. Fife thinks I should get all of the commission on Conspiracy’s book, since I’m the one who promoted it, but I’m happy to give half to Loraine. She really needs the cash.

Fife also suggested that I take Posh’s suggestion and call her mum, to see if I can sell a novel’s film rights. Perhaps she’d be interested in Conspiracy’s book, since that’s the book I’ve been working on so closely. I said I’d have a think about it.

Yeah, Posh has given me a great in, and I should take advantage. But I know nothing about selling film rights, and there’s no one in the office who’s terribly familiar with it either. But then again, what do I have to lose?

Well, I’d better get going. I’m in the office early and I can hear Loraine and Philip scooting around upstairs. She’ll be down soon and I’ve got an Agency to save.

2 responses to “The Aftermath

  1. It sounds like Fife is in a position women more often find themselves in with regards divorce settlements. Usually it is argued that the childcare and housework and general support of said spouse do constitute a fair contribution and they tend to get awarded half, but I have no idea if that’s the case in Scotland.

    Good luck with the film rights and I hope have a better day today. You do have a lot going for you, more than you give yourself credit for. I’m sure you’ll find something. Also, with the industry changing so much, many people used to how things have worked in the past will be less able to adapt. But you, just starting out and learning, can be more flexible. You have an amazing opportunity if you choose to see it that way. You have acquired knowledge of how things have been done in the past and you can start to research how things might be about to go. These sorts of times can be the perfect time for someone smart to grab a bigger slice of the pie and faster than when things are more stable.

    Do some poking around on the web, check out how America is coping with the publishing upheaval there. Look into e-books and what serious self-published authors are doing. I don’t mean the opportunists, I mean those serious and hard-working and actually succeeding. I sent you a couple of links, I could resend with a couple of others worth checking. I think there could be a niche for someone with organisational skills and contacts to be putting together various people with various skills. Serious self-publishing authors want their work to be professionally edited by freelancers. They need help with finding good quality cover artists and with foreign rights and maybe even film rights. The world is changing fast, but who says for the worse? People will always want to create and consume stories, just the format of those stories will change as technology changes.

  2. Holy poo you give good advice. You should become a life coach or some such. You’re completely correct. Publishing is changing, and I’m new enough to the ‘game’ that I can adapt as I go along. I would love to be self-employed. Or so I think I would. But I don’t cope well with insecurity — if you haven’t noticed from my blog posts — and that’s the biggest problem with self-employment. However, it’s certainly something to consider, especially as it’s self-employment is better than no employment. And I’ll have a look again at those links you sent over. I’ve saved them outside of the blog. Thank you so much for the support and advice, and I will sincerely take your comment to heart. It’s really on the spot.

Leave a Reply

