Where are the funny women writers?

I stumbled across this old article from the Jezebel, and it really made me think, ‘There aren’t many funny female novelists’. Why is that?

There’s funny women in film, on television and in the theatre. There’s most certainly funny female bloggers and columnists. But where are the funny women novelists?

There’s a certain humour in chick lit, which is dominated by women, but this isn’t the hard hitting funny satire that you’ll often find from men.

I’d love to argue that there’s some sort of conspiracy, in which the male run publishing houses don’t print our funny, witty and satiric sisters. But I don’t even know if that’s true, because I could count on one hand the number of funny books by women I have come across when reading the slush pile. It seems, in my limited experience, women aren’t writing (or they aren’t submitting) works of humour. Why?

Why is their a void of funny female voices in writing? I really wish I had an answer.

6 responses to “Where are the funny women writers?

  1. I’ve would like to add an addition to my just posted post. I realise that it seems like I have never read any funny women authors. This so is not the case. I’ve mentioned Toni McGee Causey in a post a long time ago, as well as Pauline McLynn. Two very funny authors. And, I’ve just come across this post which lists a number of funny women novelists. (http://www.flashlightworthybooks.com/Funny-Books-Written-by-Women/643) But, I’m just saying, there aren’t as many women writing comedy as men, and I want to know why. That’s all I’m saying.

  2. emofalltrades

    This is especially poignant because of Nora Ephron’s recent death. There were dozens of funny female writers publishing in the 80s and 90s and judging by what I’ve seen from writing workshops and other reading experiences, I think there’s a new generation coming up, but maybe they haven’t hit their stride yet.

  3. emofalltrades

    Dunno why this particular observation of yours has bothered me. But, check this out, NPR’s Five Funny Books with Substance (and several are written by women): http://www.npr.org/2012/07/17/155765881/laughing-matters-five-funny-books-with-substance?ft=3&f=100876926&sc=nl&cc=bn-20120719

    • Brilliant. Sadly I’ve never read any of these. They’re getting downloaded to the Kindle as we speak.See, I think this is the biggest problem. Maybe it’s not that women don’t write funny, women just don’t get promoted as funny. We just need to promote each other. Done.

  4. That’s been the question for the ages. You know who’s a great, funny female writer that you may like? Pamela Ribon. Her stuff is hilarious, and also touching. She became known for both her work on Television Without Pity and her site, Pamie.com. She’s written several novels, and never ceases to entertain in her blog. Check her out!

    And you are a funny woman writer!

Leave a Reply

