Non-Bathtub Blogroll: The Swollen Edition

Due to the Olympics, I became homesick for living near London and got totally sucked into the games, which made me think that I could be all sporty, and I tried to be sporty, but instead I fell flat on my face and sprained my ankle.

Now my foot and the bottom part of my leg looks like it’s wearing a water-wing. I’m all bandaged and black and blue.

But, having a bunged up ankle isn’t really the problem, because I’m working from home so I don’t have to maneuver the stairs out of the flat. Plus, HarryPotter’s been coming around quite a lot – we was around all weekend. The problem is that the Edinburgh Book Fest is nearly here and I was finally going to go. I was sooooo psyched. Oh, plus, it will be my birthday during the Festival so I had plans to act like a drunken literary fuckwit the night of my birthday after the readings, which is totally hard to do when hobbling around on crutches. I’m still going no matter what state of mobility I am in, but it won’t be as good. Edinburgh has lots of stairs.

Anyway, here I am talking about my personal life. Which I said I wouldn’t do. Which is also why I try not to visit the blog more than once a week, for fear that I’ll get hooked again.

So, some really cool links that you may like:

Funny woman Pamela Ribon’s website totally recommened by JudiSunshine.

9 Foreign Words the English Language Desperately Needs: I’ve decided that I’m going to start slipping some of these words into everyday conversations.

TeleRead: I’m like the last person in the industry to discover this site, but nonetheless I did eventually find it. It’s basically a newspaper all about books. Super cool.

Okay, this one isn’t something cool, this something I want to STOP. The Secret to Humor is Surprise Facebook page sucks. Please stop putting these pictures on your wall. They aren’t funny. A picture of a child or a small animal with a relatively bitchy saying is not funny. This is the sort of thing my mum would find funny. It’s the same sort of funny as the middle-aged woman who walks into a shop and puts on the giant sunglasses in a fit of ‘whimsy’. ‘Oh look how “crazy” I am trying on Elton John sunglasses and a festival hat. Oh no I’m not going to buy anything shopkeeper, I’m just laughing at your merchandise.’ Yeah, these pictures are that sort of funny. So, please stop putting them on your Facebook wall, or I’m going to have to block you.

Right. I think I’m going to have to get off the blog now. The swelling in my foot seems to have reached my brain and I am unable to filter. So, yeah. I’d better go before someone accuses me of being a Kaelling.

Leave a Reply

