The colours of melancholy

There’s a tree near my office  I pass when I get off the bus. Today that tree was a combination of greens, yellows and reds.

Anyone who follows this blog will know that I’m not an ‘outdoorsy’ type, but since moving to Dundee I’ve learned to appreciate nature visually. Dundee is, despite what people think, an extremely green city. I have a vague memory of reading about how Dundee has more parks per square foot than any other city. That may be true, or I may be remembering incorrectly, but either way, there are a lot of trees in Dundee.

From my flat I can see both the Tay River and the Law (depending if I’m looking out the back of the flat or the front). There’s a park up the road, and another not too far from this office, one that stretches for miles and blends into a massive wood.

At the moment Dundee is becoming a mass of warm colours: golds, yellows, reds and oranges. The light is dimming, and the shadows are pushing against the wet yellow leaves on the pavement.

In a way, it’s making me quite melancholy. The leaves mean that the darkness will soon be here.

Something I’ve never gotten used to about Scotland is the winter darkness. For those of you who don’t live in Scotland, Dundee is on the same longitude as Moscow while London is the same as Cologne (sort of). Dundee winters are very dark and dark for very long, depressingly dark.

But also, there’s something about the colours and the fall leaves say ‘new’. Maybe deep down they remind me of school starting and academic days at University. There’s something about a golden falling leaf that reminds me of my friends and pubs and happiness.

I came on to the blog to post about what happened on Sunday night. But I got distracted by the colours of nature. I think I need to go be full of ennui for a while, and I’ll come back later to fill you in on the drama of Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

