The internship and the council house

Two big bits of family news today. Katie went and talked to the people she had been doing an internship with, and they had already replaced her. However, some how she has blagged her way into a paid job with them. I have no idea how she has quit a volunteer job for ‘something better’ then manages to make them beg her to return. Sometimes I’m not sure that we have the same genes.

Other big news is that mum got the approval to buy the house. She actually received the okay nearly three weeks ago, but she didn’t tell me. Which kind of pisses me off, but she said she wanted to think about it without me pushing her. What’s there to push? I’m giving her a deposit so she can own her own home and not get kicked out? Anyway, she had a deadline to take the offer, so she’s finally told me. And, thank god, she’s buying the house. We already have the mortgage approved based on the discount we were hoping for, so all should go pretty quickly from here. Mum’s talking to the bank tomorrow. I’m kind of nervous that she’s talking to the bank on her own – not that I could help her in anyway – but she gets so flustered. I wish I could be there. But, I’m sure she’ll be fine.

Spent the evening at Goatee’s. He made an amazing meal. Carmel brazed pork medallions with a lovely walnut side dressing and a spinach and tomato salad. Mon dieu he’s an amazing cook. We watched an old Humphrey Bogart film, the African Queen, after dinner. He suggested I crash in the extra bedroom, but I wanted my PJs and to wash my make-up off. So much for his wife leaving him to have the house to himself. Then again, even I know Goatee hates to be alone. There was no way he was going to roam around an empty house for a week.

Leave a Reply

