I hate life decisions

Head is swimming. Had such a good night last night.

Was the Intern’s last day at work, so I took her out for what was supposed to be a pint. It turned into several bottles.

Everyone in the office and Giles was invited, but happily only Newby joined us. We were talking about the Intern’s up coming job, and I mentioned that she should meet Lorainne. Hoping for the best, I texted Lorainne to see if she’s join us. She had only been back in town a few days, and was looking forward to getting out of the house already.

By the time she arrived we’d already had a bit to drink, and we needed food. Burgers seemed like the best idea, so we headed to Dukes for a burger and a pint.

Lorainne doesn’t seem to be enjoying retirement. Too sedentary. I don’t see her staying out of the job market for long. The Intern and Lorainne hit it off instantly though. She’s totally freaking out about her upcoming job at MNM. Lorainne and I totally dished the dirt on how horrible they USED TO BE, but assured her it’s all fine now.

I found out how much Lorainne actually knew about the drama from when I was there, and then she informed me that everyone in the industry knew about it. It was part of the reason they hired me…if I could take that on, I could take on anything.

Just at this point, my phone rang. It was London, and I had completely forgotten that I was supposed to talk to her. I ran outside to take the call, and three women followed despite the fact it was so cold outside. Lorainne wanted to say ‘hello’ to London, the Intern was curious as to what I was going to say, and I just don’t think Newby wanted to be left alone.

Essentially, if I go work for London and Paris, I’d be the contact for clients, distributors, festivals and so on. They’re trying to build a global business that works with authors in any country as long as they’re writing in English. London would be the primary editor and manage art and creation, and Paris would barter contracts and sale of rights onto traditional publishers and other subsidiaries (some authors are finding so much success with hydrid publishers, they’re being picked up by traditional publishers after a while). I would kind of be like a talent scout/marketer/author manager.

It sounds like a dream job, except for one thing. They’d really like me to live in London. They said that I’ll be travelling so much that I really should be in London so I can work with them directly in between business trips. (Paris has been staying in London several days of every month.)

The three lovely women standing around listening to my call on speaker told me I’d be mad not to take it. But, I asked London for just a bit more time to think about it. What about HP and I? I don’t want to give up on that, and asking him to move to London would definitely end the relationship.

I hung up confused, but as the Intern’s Dundee friend (the one that looks like Katy Perry) arrived, I decided to not think about it just then. Lorainne headed home because she’s a sensible adult, but the rest of us shut down the pub.

The Intern wad staying with Katy Perry. As they hopped in a taxi, I made her promise to keep in touch; although, I’m feeling quite positive the Intern will make a name for herself and we’ll work together in some capacity in the future.

Newby got on a late bus and left, and I walked home. As I did, I knew what I wanted to do. My choice had been made. I was moving to London.

Then, I walked through the door to the flat. All was quiet, HP was in bed in his room. There was half a pizza on the kitchen counter with a note saying, ‘Help yourself. Got this for the two of us. Was hoping to see you tonight.’

Shit, now I don’t know what I want to do. I don’t know if I’ll be able to get the rest of the sale money from Giles, or if I should just cut my losses. Either way paycheques won’t be regular with London and Paris for a while.

But, more importantly, I want this new job, but I also want HP.

I hate life decisions.

Leave a Reply

